Of species, nation and tribe…

Tonight, while driving home, a radio news show came on the air discussing how the Chinese were sending parts into space for construction of their own space station. With the booming economy and nationalist pride on the line, China is now looking to develop and expand its space program, hoping to surpass the US and Europe. Plans were mentioned for the moon and Mars with an exuberance and (possibly just the appearance of) a groundswell of public support.

My first reaction, mirrored my third reaction, but conflicted with my second and forth.

At first, I thought “how wonderful! Human beings returning to active space exploration on a national level! This could take us into the stars!” It was a great feeling. Thinking that I was alive in an era where I may be seeing the continuation of the very beginning of our spacefaring age, where we took offworld travel and exploration seriously and spread the wonder of our impossible existence elsewhere. A pleasant dramatization of theory perhaps, but pleasant all the same.

However as I listened and heard the foreign, unusual name to the rocket carrying the parts, heard the words “leading” and “determined” applied to a nation other than my beloved(?) America, and listened as a foreigner spoke with honest joy at the achievements of his nation, while mine remained a once(?) great society in honest decline. I thought of ancient empires at the heights of their glory and then on them now, selling themselves as tourist destinations, passively observing events in the world now greater than their control.

But then again, I thought of how simply ignorant it is to think on the accomplishments of one’s species in a hostile and impossible universe such as this, in terms of the nations and cultures which push them forward. Should it be Chinese, Americans, Indians, Russians or (should the world of the future look entirely different than I imagine) Mexicans who bring us off this world and into the stars, where I personally think we’ll one day belong, than so be it! Besides, the formality and individual humility of Chinese culture very well could make a better interstellar ambassador than some brawny American with a high-and-tight offering beef jerky and classic rock records.

However again, I came back to a nagging personal sensation of loss. I was raised with “greatest nation on Earth” repeated to me ad-nauseum, and for a long time, I really believed it. I had always imagined that should a nation exist to carry the world into the glorious science-fiction future I’d imagined, it would be my home country. My America. And now, it seemed that this was not the case. For such great and massive advances in the past, for such power and progress, our empire days are over. Our days of being the cock of the walk are though and its time to let this new global multi polar paradigm take shape. Sad, but a sign of progress nonetheless.

Human is human is human. Language and culture and nation are meaningless in the dark and cold of space. Life has no reasonable place in this universe, save for the places that are perfect and particular and those we create ourselves. Nationalism is a dying tradition in the long run and so should it be the Chinese, who I’ve been somewhat indoctrinated to fear as a tribal adversary with a different culture and competitive goals, who bring us as a species into the future than so be it. The “west” did not invent sailing, but it explored and “discovered” the entire world as it tells itself. It did invent space travel and now the next successor of things in the world adopts the practice to be the next bold leader on the global stage.

We will retain our cultural value and even our innovation and brilliance. Our productivity and contributions to the world have only begun. But our time as an imperial powerhouse, leading the way is coming to a close. It is sensible to feel odd about such things as this in my eyes. To have one’s home and one’s kind surpassed after such a run of dominance, but looking at things in the bigger picture, I welcome progress and achievement no matter where it comes from as each giant step draws the world together just a little more than it was before. And taking steps forward is more important than one’s tribal pride.

Leave a comment